Christmas 2015

I have been quiet for a while over this Christmas period. I decided to take a bit of a break and focus on getting some rest and spending time with my little family. It has really helped me feel a lot better. I was beginning to feel really tired and overwhelmed, with a dash of lonely. It has been so nice having Mr M off work and has made such a huge difference to everything. We have had fun days out and quiet days in, lots of lovely visitors, and I have napped. I am starting to feel much better, so here is a little look at what we have been up to the last couple of weeks!

 

20151215_173847 (1)

It all started with a visit to Southmead Day Assessment Unit, when I had a headache that just wouldn’t go and high blood pressure. I hadn’t been feeling right for a couple of days and they decided it was best that I go in for monitoring. It was a LONG day but eventually my blood pressure went down to normal and I started to feel better again. At this stage in the pregnancy you can never be careful, so I thought it was best to get checked out. I have been taking it easy since this happened, and being monitored more regularly by my community midwife.

20151219_115518

Then my lovely friends surprised me with a special day just for me and bump – a little mini baby shower, just the three of us. They painted my nails, cooked me lunch and showered me with gifts and what I needed most of all – their company. It was such a nice day and it made me feel very special!

20151220_160519

We also had a very Christmassy afternoon together with our families – delicious food and lots of fun. It was a lovely way to kick start the Christmas celebrations!

20151222_163641

Then Mr M finished work for Christmas, Hooray! And we started to do lots of nice family things together, including arts and crafts. Ted absolutely loves having his Daddy to play with and I am really enjoying us all being together.

PicsArt_1451476741410

Christmas Eve came along and we started some new Morgan Family traditions – beginning with going out for a family breakfast! Then we watched Christmas films and did some activities from Ted’s Christmas Eve Box, and I dressed him as an elf. He loved it!

PicsArt_1451476851480

Then came Christmas Day – and the first time we haven’t travelled back home. We had a quiet but lovely day just the three of us. Mr M cooked a fantastic Christmas dinner and Ted opened lots of presents. (Oh, and I dressed him as a bear this time!) We really had a nice day together and it was just what we needed this year.

Since Christmas we have had a steady stream of very special visitors. Ted has had lots of attention and love and has been in his element! Lots of people to play with and read with – and go on windy walks with. It has been lovely and I have continued to be able to rest.

PicsArt_1451476950940

I was so pleased and surprised to get not one but two Yum Boxes for Christmas – one from my dear friend Kate and one from Mr M! My sister also bought me some really cool bento accessories and a gorgeous bento book, so I have been making Ted some creative lunches again. You know I am feeling better when Ted gets a themed lunch!

20151224_201908

And finally, I have been getting pretty pregnant! I am at term now which is just crazy – this pregnancy has completely flown by. It really is now a matter of weeks before we meet our son. I am getting lots of braxton hicks and can’t survive without a nap in the day at the moment. (sometimes two!) I think we have everything ready – hospital bag is packed, crib set up in our room and carseat is ready in the car. I just don’t want to let myself think it is going to happen really soon – I made that mistake with Ted and then the 2 weeks I spent overdue were horrendous! So I have made lots of plans with friends to keep myself occupied until he arrives.

Watch this space…………..!

What did you get up to this Christmas? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below! Xx

2 thoughts on “Christmas 2015

  1. Your Christmas sounds remarkably similar to ours! It’s ace having the man home for a bit isn’t it? I’ve loved being able to sneak off for naps, and I’m sure Iris is loving the daddy time as much as he is. I’m dreading the gap between him going back to work and the birth. Sorry to see that you’ve been poorly and had to be monitored. That happened to me a lot towards the end with Iris so I know it’s pretty stressful. Thank goodness everything is ok! Can you believe how close we are to the end already? It’s been ace doing pregnancy together again. Maybe you’ll birth first this time! xx

Leave a comment